digital photography explainedHi everyone,
Welcome to this new serie on my blog. In this serie I’ll try to explain as clear as possible how the digital camera works and what you should know as a beginner.
In this very first edition I’ll be talking about one of the most important aspects of a digital camera and digital camera photography; ISO.

What is ISO?

ISO indicates your camera’s sensitivity to light. When the ISO on your camera is high, you will need less light to take a good photo (not too little and not too much light). Your ISO is indicated by a number. So, the higher the number, the less light you’ll need for a good picture. ISO, aperture and shutter speed all affect the exposure of a photo. When changing the ISO, you change the sensitivity to light and therefore a photo’s exposure. The ISO rating is usually adaptable in your camera settings but of course, considering how sophisticated our technology is, you can also put it on auto.

Which Iso to choose at a certain situation?

As mentioned before, we follow the concept that the more light there is, the lower ISO you need. Knowing this, these are some guidance lines:

  • ISO 50-100: For a sunny day.
  • ISO 200: For mory cloudy grayish days.
  • ISO 400-600: The sun is setting and light is disappearing.
  • ISO: 600- 800: Light is getting dim but it is not completely dark yet.
  • ISO 1600+ : for dark nights and used for indoor shots where there isn’t much light available.

Remember that these are just guidance lines and that each lighting and situation is different .

Where do you change ISO on a digital camera?

ISO is very easily changed on a digital camera. First go to the, what I like to call, setting screen. You can change many things over there such a shutter speed, aperture and other things I hope to explain to you one day. You just move your dart to the ISO part, and easily change your ISO

Extra information

So, why would you change your ISO if you can also do it all automatically? Well, it may seem hard at first but I’ve discovered that manual offers so much more than just automatic shooting.  Not only more challenges but also a lot better and professional photos.
ISO is usually combined with the shutter speed and aperture You adapt the three to each other. In upcoming posts, I’ll tell you all about those two things and how you adapt the three all together.
Also know that a too high ISO, can cause grain or ‘noise’ to appear in your photos. So remember:
Never use a higher ISO, than suitable for the situation.

I hope you liked this very first part of my series, it is still in progress so if you have any additions, please let me know. Should the subject be more deepened out  or just leave it clear and easier like this one?

Also, I have some exiting news to share. This summer I’m going to Italy! I can assure you there will be many photos seen here after I’ve returned.  Secondly, I have convinced my friend to be my model, so if everything goes according to plan, you will see my first shoot with a model on my blog soon. And last, but certainly not least. I’m going to attend a photography school after the summer break! It will start right away in September and I hope to learn many things which I’ll be able to share here, on ‘PhotographyByFanny’.

Thanks for reading, it means a lot.

Love,

Fanny

 

 

Front photo credit to Google.

 

 

 

 

